On the day I met Allan Hawco

On the day I met Allan Hawco, I woke up early to make a special breakfast for my boys before school. It was going to be a special day. I was going to meet Allan Hawco.

On the day I met Allan Hawco, I made waffles and bacon, turned on the morning news and sat down to have a cup of Earl Grey tea.

On the day I met Allan Hawco, I listened to the news while I watched my son scrape the ice off his car parked in front of the house. I watched him grimace as he stubbornly didn’t come back to the house for a pair of gloves.

On the day I met Allan Hawco, I heard the news and went running outside barefoot in pink fleece pants and an orange sweatshirt.

On the day I met Allan Hawco, we watched the “Breaking News” segment telling us that a gunman had attacked and killed an unarmed soldier standing guard at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier in Ottawa.

On the day I met Allan Hawco, I told my son that an unarmed soldier was killed while standing guard at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. I gripped his arms and rubbed his head and neither of us cared how cold it was. He needed to hear the news from me.

On the day I met Allan Hawco, I allowed the news to consume my day. I scrolled Twitter every few minutes for news of the gunman’s capture. I watched a soldier receive CPR from two women who ran to him with no regard for their own lives being at risk.

On the day I met Allan Hawco, I watched my son remember standing in front of the same memorial with his peers.

On the day I met Allan Hawco, I heard of Kevin Vickers, his bravery and courage, and how he saved his colleagues. He was Canada’s newest hero.

On the day I met Allan Hawco, I felt guilty for being excited that I was going to meet one of Canada’s most talented individuals so I tweeted him, and he tweeted back. I prayed for those that were grieving, scared, or isolated from their families.

On the day I met Allan Hawco, I felt extra proud to be a Canadian.

On the day I met Allan Hawco, I watched and listened to an incredibly talented, hardworking Canadian humbly tell a crowd that he was so glad we watch his show.

On the day I met Allan Hawco, my kids found out that the coolest guy in Canada shares something in common with them. They thought that maybe they’re cool too (they are).

On the day I met Allan Hawco, I grieved for my country’s first act of terrorism at home and I prayed that there will never be another one.

Author: stuffytales

I'm a Mum of two fabulous boys and an undetermined number of very mischievous stuffed animals.

Leave a Reply

