Weekly Writing Challenge: Tanka Treasure Map

When my husband died

There was no way to go on

Then I found the map,

“To my sweet, sweet love,

I leave you treasure of old.”

 

Down the road and back

I ran, unable to stop

Do I believe it?

Could it be true? Or a trick?

I took it on and drove away

 

Up our hill I climbed

For hours and days it felt like

But only minutes

I found our spot at the tree

I dug until I found it

 

His initials found

I knew it was made for me

I cried at his thought

The sacrifices he made

Even in death, he was here

 

Inside the box was memories

Of many times together

I sat, shook, and cried

Until I could cry no more

I felt myself start to go

 

My tears began to wrap

Around me as I flew up

I saw his face shine

And welcome me home again

I was free and he was here

 

 

Weekly Writing Challenge

Author: stuffytales

I'm a Mum of two fabulous boys and an undetermined number of very mischievous stuffed animals.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge: Tanka Treasure Map”

Leave a Reply

