Zero to Hero: Blogging Event

Manic Mondays Blogging Event

It was all planned out. The day before, I went to Toys R’Us and bought Play-Doh, enough so no one had to share. We had rolling pins, cookie cutters, and the hair salon was clean and ready for its Play-Doh customers. The table had a plastic tablecloth, left over from last month’s birthday party. I could hear the boys yelling at each other about who got to be Anakin while they fought with light sabers made out of Nerf swords.

“You got to be Anakin last time!”

“You always get to be Anakin!”

“You think you’re better cause you’re older but you’re NOT!”

“I hate you!”

“Boys,” I called from the kitchen. “Time for Play-Doh!”

“Slam!” The door closed with one child still inside the bedroom. Storming footsteps ensued.

With a too-happy tone in my voice, I invited them to sit down and play. I could be a good Mum, I could just sit and let them play without intervention and let them take out their frustrations with art. As the dough went all over the floor, and their hair, and the chairs, I had to breathe deeply and try to just keep quiet. It felt as if bugs were crawling up the back of my shirt. I looked away, trying desperately to calm down before freaking out.

“Mum, are you all right?” my oldest asked.

“Um, yeah, I’m fine. Thanks sweetie.”

“He handed me a Play-Doh cookie. This will make you feel better.”

And it did. But then I had to clean up. Thoroughly. They invented TV precisely for these moments.

This is my 50th blog post!! Hooray for Zero to Hero!

Perfection Pending Blog Button

Author: stuffytales

I'm a Mum of two fabulous boys and an undetermined number of very mischievous stuffed animals.

Leave a Reply

