Ballet Writing

My son and I went to the see the Royal Winnipeg Ballet‘s Romeo and Juliet this afternoon and it was spectacular. Before the ballet began, I wondered how the dancers would be able to tell the story without words. While watching the dancers, I wondered how I could possibly describe their movements in words. I realized that we can spend far less time talking but more time communicating.

Writing is the opposite of ballet – writers use letters, words, and sentences while ballet dancers use none of those things. But the two arts are far more similar than they are different. Writers are storytellers, as are dancers. We just speak a different language. While dancers communicate through movement along with facial expressions, music, costumes and set design, writers use words to take readers into another place.

Watching an art far different from my own made me appreciate all of the creative arts more and I wish everyone could have been there.

Author: stuffytales

I'm a Mum of two fabulous boys and an undetermined number of very mischievous stuffed animals.

3 thoughts on “Ballet Writing”

  1. Artists also use a language of colour and form. Art is universal. Even a baker uses his art to make lovely bakes. I appreciate art in every form. Its amazing to see creativity in every form.

Leave a Reply

