Daily Prompt: Bookworm

I am reading Superman For All Seasons. Not a chapter book but not a magazine, it classifies as a comic or graphic novel. My brothers used to read Transformers comics when we were kids. ‘Comic books are dumb’ I thought, ‘for dumb people that can’t read real books. Why would you read a comic book? They’re lame and infantile. The only good comics are the ones in the Sunday paper.’ When my kids were little, they dressed up as Batman but I never thought about comic books. I thought of Batman as a movie character and the star of a TV show. Now my kids are in their teens, hopelessly in love with comic books. Our dinner table discussion revolves around which character deserves a movie, which characters should join forces, and movie quotes from Christopher Nolan’s Batman movies.

In order to stay connected with what my children enjoy, I asked my son to recommend one of his comic books to me. He started me with Superman for all Seasons, which I am now reading for a second time. It’s awesome. There are fewer words than in a novel of course, but that doesn’t make it less worthwhile. Each time I look at a panel I see something new in the drawings or come to a different conclusion with the words. I love how different authors and artists can retell the same story in a new way, like how Batman became a bat-obsessed super hero or when Lois Lane discovered that Clark Kent is Superman. I thought a story was a story, the end. But I was wrong. Before I read comic books I had no knowledge of how any super hero came to be; I knew only what they were in movies.  Now I love the origin stories – Superman was bullied! Batman was an orphan! These stories give hope to their readers in a way that is not forced, cheesy or condescending. Comic books are for everyone, you just have to find the right one; it’s no different than books. We’ve had a few misses, but those are okay because we can compare with each other. My son respects my opinion on which books I like and I respect his. We get to enjoy them together. Now that I’ve read a few different comics, I am getting a better idea at what I like and don’t like but Superman for all Seasons remains my first and favourite comic book. Someday I will learn not to judge something without trying it first.

In response to today’s Daily Prompt, what is the last book you read?

Author: stuffytales

I'm a Mum of two fabulous boys and an undetermined number of very mischievous stuffed animals.

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Bookworm”

  1. really true . but comic books are really fun!!!! with action , romance,suspense,thrill all in one!
    with so little words.

Leave a Reply

