Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words. Cable up!

This morning, as the sun began to wake, I felt my ends warm up ever so slightly. Inhaling deeply, I willed the sun to warm me up from bottom to top but it would not come on my schedule. Taunting me with it’s slow rising, I continued to attempt to pull the warmth. Very gradually it began to come, only to have a cloud taunt me; wiggling across the sun and ruining my light. As the cloud draws its middle over the sun I feel the bitter chill of the wind, rising up from the water and showing no mercy in its path. I shiver from end to end, quaking in the motion of the wind. Just when I think I’ll never be warm again, the cloud shifts and I feel a touch of sunlight. As soon as I can make out the bottom of the sun’s round body, I feel the hope of a beautiful new day.

At the bottom of the hill, a young man is beginning his first day on the car. He is a ball of nerves and excitement. Watching him is like watching popcorn pop – everything is calm and then a shriek of excitement gives me the quivers. The job is not difficult but it does require perfect precision and no fear of height! I want to reach out and tell him that I will be here, sturdy and strong, and will not yield to the nefarious wind. He hops into the car and begins to head up the hill. Slow and jerky, the riders will be in for a rocky treat today. Many apologies will be given. Some will enjoy that they are the first to ride with a new driver, while others will hop off early, angry and irritable and make the rest of the way by foot. Stomping up the steps, they will forget to turn and look down and miss the beauty of the view.

When the sun begins to set at the end of the day, it feels as if all the world is going to sleep. The busyness of the streets is replaced by the quiet, slow strolling of young couples and elderly dog walkers. The young ball of nerves has become a confident driver, satisfied and anxious for the next day. For now, he reflects on the day and the people he met along the way. I pull from post to post, allowing the weight of the cars to pull me deeper. Giving into the stretch, I breathe deeply, allowing the weight of the day to float off and away. The sun lowers itself in the sky, seemingly much faster than the speed at which it rose this morning. It changes from the bright gold of the afternoon into a deeper yellow, then a burnt orange and then into a full red, peering through thin slivers of clouds as it hides itself away for the night. A slight glow lasts for a few minutes after the sun has gone, allowing passers-by a few extra moments to tuck themselves away for the night. I close myself off for the day, looking up at the first stars as they appear in the darkness.

Image

Written by the cable car wires, with love and remembrance for today and hope for tomorrow. In response to the Weekly Writing Challenge here: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/28/writing-challenge-1000-words/. Leave me a comment with the link to yours!

Author: stuffytales

I'm a Mum of two fabulous boys and an undetermined number of very mischievous stuffed animals.

1 thought on “Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words. Cable up!”

  1. I liked this, a refreshing look at the photograph, I like many saw this as a morning, after reading your story I now see it could be dusk. I like that you chose another focus that the couple that the rest of us saw.
    Here’s mine if you fancy a different point of view. Unfortunately the formatting couldn’t be redone, I copied from a word doc. I may have to retype it tomorrow as it as hard for people to read, worth it though I hope!
    http://awritersfountain.wordpress.com/2013/01/28/232/

Leave a Reply

